Conference Schedule


Conference Agenda


Venue: McKenna Hall, University of Notre Dame


Tuesday, September 29, 2015

7:30 am 8:45 am Registration & Continental Breakfast
9:00 am 9:15 am Welcome and Prayer
Fr. John Jenkins, C.S.C., President, University of Notre Dame
9:15 am 9:30 am Introductory Remarks
Roger Huang, Dean, Mendoza College of Business
9:30 am 9:45 am Overview of the Conference
Leo Burke, Director, Global Commons Initiative, Mendoza College of Business
9:45 am 10:30 am Keynote Address
David Orr, Distinguished Professor of Environmental Studies and Politics, Oberlin College
10:30 am 10:55 am Refreshment Break
11:00 am 12:15 pm

Panel 1: Climate and Carbon

Mary Galvin, Dean, College of Science, University of Notre Dame

Jessica Hellmann, Director, Institute on the Environment, and Professor, College of Biological Sciences, University of Minnesota
Frank Incropera, Professor, College of Engineering, University of Notre Dame
Michael O'Sullivan, Sr. Vice President, NextEra Energy Resources

12:15 pm 12:30 pm Overview of ND-GAIN
Joyce Coffee, Managing Director, ND-GAIN
12:30 pm 1:30 pm Conference LUNCH
1:30 pm 2:45 pm

Panel II: Investment Perspectives

Mark Orlowski, Founder and Executive Director, Sustainable Endowments Institute

Mark Campanale, Founder and Executive Director, Carbon Tracker Initiative
Amy Domini, Founder and CEO, Domini Social Investments
John Fullerton, Founder and President, Capital Institute
David Martin, Chairman, M-CAM Global Holdings

2:45 pm 3:15 pm Refreshment Break
3:15 pm 5:00 pm Climate Investing—Small Group Discussions
7:30 pm 8:30 pm Evening Keynote Speaker
Paul Hawken, Environmentalist and author; Project Director, Project Drawdown

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

8:00 am 9:00 am Continental Breakfast
9:00 am 10:15 am

Panel III: Industry & Policy Perspectives

Robert McNamara, Managing Director, Strategy, Accenture LLC

John Cole, Co-Founder and Sr. Consultant, Southreach Limited
Vince Cushing, Co-founder and Chief Technology Officer, QCoefficient
Doug Ford, Retired Managing Director and CEO of Downstream Operations Bp,plc
William Hederman, Senior Advisor to the Secretary, U.S. Department of Energy

10:15 am 10:45 am Refreshment Break
10:45 am 12:00 pm

Panel IV: Global Perspectives

Leo Burke, Director, Global Commons Initiative, Mendoza College of Business

Laurence Brahm, Founder, Himalayan Consensus
Li Bin, Head and Counselor of Economic Affairs, Embassy of the People's Republic of China, Washington, D.C.
Sam Pitroda, former Special Advisor to the Prime Minister of India on Information, Infrastructure, and Innovation

12:00 pm 1:00 pm Conference Lunch
1:00 pm 2:15 pm

Panel V: New Opportunities & A New Generation

Rachel Novick, Director of the Minor in Sustainability, University of Notre Dame

Michael Hagerty, Associate, The Brattle Group
T.J. Kanczuzewski, President, Inovateus Solar
Tom Matzzie, Founder and CEO, Ethical Energy
Ben Saydah, Founder and President, Carbon Strategies, Inc.

2:15 pm 2:45 pm Refreshment Break
2:45 pm 3:30 pm Keynote Address
Carolyn Y. Woo, President and CEO, Catholic Relief Services
3:30 pm 4:30 pm Climate Investing—Small Group Discussions
4:30 pm 5:00 pm Summary & Concluding Remarks
Leo Burke